luciferlaughs:

Richard Ramirez, the youngest of five children in a Mexican American family, soon, like his older siblings, became subjected to his father’s violent outbursts and beatings as a child, and had become deathly afraid of his temper and hands. Richard later recounted, ‘’More than him actually hitting me. I was afraid of it in my mind. I’d seen him beat Ruben and Robert, and I’d seen him lose his temper over the television not working right when he wanted it to. They say it’s worse to see someone you love getting tortured or hurt than being tortured or hurt yourself. I don’t know if that’s true or not, but I was real frightened of my father. When he lost it, I ran and hid, scared shit.’’ Often, Richard would grab his sleeping bag and sleep at the local cemetery to escape his father’s rage. 

Leave a comment